The first harbour of every news

Home > Regattas > World Match Racing Tour > Dickson takes the lead in day two of Ficker Cup

Featured tags:

Dickson takes the lead in day two of Ficker Cup

 Print article
Long Beach Yacht Club’s Scott Dickson and team wins with an 11-3 record
Long Beach Yacht Club’s Scott Dickson and team wins with an 11-3 record

Dickson takes the lead in day two of Ficker Cup; advances to semi-finals with Storrs, Snow and Price



LONG BEACH, CALIF  25 March 2017 – Storm clouds threatened Day Two of the 38th Ficker Cup regatta today, but the only tempest on the track was Long Beach Yacht Club’s Scott Dickson and team, who stormed the scoreboard with an 11-3 record, following up yesterday’s powerful start with six wins today.

The Ficker Cup is a World Match Racing Tour Grade Two event, and feeder to the prestigious Congressional Cup regatta. Both are hosted by LBYC, and raced in the waters adjacent the Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier.

Dickson’s only loss today was to San Diego’s Nevin Snow, who also logged six wins, bowing to David Storrs. Both Snow and Storrs stand at 9 wins, 5 losses.

Snow credited “another day on the boat” with the improvement over yesterday, when his team finished 3-4. Racing the customized fleet of identical Catalina 37s is “more tactical than technical,” Snow explained. “You have to know the rules, be more thorough and think ahead. The racing is slower – but good.”

Harry Price and his Down Under Racing Team rebounded today with five wins, admitting he was “struggling” during yesterday’s Ficker Cup kick-off. Although he’d handily won the USA Grand Slam – a back-to-back series of match race regattas held in Detroit, Chicago and New York – he has more familiarity with smaller boats, saying it was only his second opportunity steering with a wheel (vs. a tiller). “Yesterday we ironed out quite a few mistakes … we’re glad to have this time on the bigger boat and a couple of extra days to iron things out,“ before the Congressional Cup next week. Price advances to tomorrow’s semi-finals along with Dickson, Storrs and Snow.

Officials noted Saturday was rife with excitement, between collisions, mixed breeze, dolphins, sea lions, and “a first.”

“I thought I’d seen everything in match racing,” said LBYC Waterfront Director Rick Roberts, until he noticed a private boat stopping in the midst of the course during a pre-start dial-up. Although warned about their precarious position, the boater refused to move … and continued with a hasty burial at sea: scattering their beloved’s ashes as David Hood and Peter Holz’ team barreled through.

Ficker Cup racing continues tomorrow, Sunday March 26, at noon. The top two finalists will advance to the Congressional Cup, held March 28 to April 2.

The Ficker Cup was established in 1980 by LBYC to honor Bill Ficker, who recently passed at the age of 89. An architect by trade, Ficker was a renowned yachtsman. He won the Star Class World Championship in 1958, and helmed Intrepid to victory in the 1970 America’s Cup. Four years later, he won the Congressional Cup.

For complete results please visit

Cumulative Results  Day 2



Scott Dickson

LBYC – 270



David Storrs

USA – 22



Nevin Snow

USA – 26



Harry Price

AUS – 3



Vladimir Lipavsky

RUS – 29



Peter Holz

USA – 21



Dave Hood

USA – 79



Sidney Gathrid

USA – 293



Latest news